Fire Engine House No. 1 @ 118 Adams Ave., 38103

  Fire Station No. 1 opened in 1910 at 118 Adams Avenue in Downtown Memphis. Fire Station No.1 was built during the term of the infamous Mayor of Memphis, EH "Boss" Crump, and Fire Chief, John E. McFadden. The "new" Station No.1 replaced the "old" No.1, which was located on the northwest corner of Adams Avenue at Second Street. When Station No. 1 originally opened, it housed a second-class, crane-neck frame, double-pump, Nott Steamer, built in 1906, as well as a 1903 Seagrave Hose Wagon. Both pieces of apparatus were horse drawn.  Over the years, Station No. 1 has housed Engine 1, Truck 2, the Water Tower and a Deputy Chief. Located next door was Police Headquarters, built in 1911.Desiring the support of Memphis Firefighters, Boss Crump determinedly set out to build the “Best of the Best, as far as fire stations go,” ensuring Fire Station No. 1 would be the pride of the South.  After nearly 60 years and hundreds of firefighters later, Fire Station No. 1 at 118 Adams closed its doors to the fire service on February 15, 1973, after the city relocated a few blocks away across from (then) St. Joseph’s Hospital at 211 Jackson Avenue.  After its closing, Fire Station #1 served as the Traffic Bureau for the Memphis Police Department before finally being shuttered by the city.  On November 19, 1992, under the direction of then Fire Director, Charles E. Smith, The Memphis Fire Department and the Center City Commission formed a steering committee to explore the possibilities of restoring old Fire Engine House No. 1 and establishing a foundation to operate the museum.

Return to Firehouses
Site Credits